Latest Entry
Older Entries
My Profile
eMail Me
Notes
Get Your Own Diaryland Diary
2002-12-23 --- 7:58 a.m.

Kumquat!

So there�s this marvelous little 5.5 year old son that lives in my household.

Mostly, he does pretty well in the morning�as I generally have to go through evolution each and every day (grunts/knuckle-dragging; eventually coffee/speech.) But today, he pulled a �I�m awake dad, and it isn�t even the crack of dawn! Look! The sun isn�t up yet.� All the while bouncing me like a proverbial tigger. It is hard to be grumpy with a happy little person. After having read til� well after dark-thirty and change I wanted to be�but couldn�t manage�so I went with it and before long we were rolling about on my big-ass king bed laughing at each other and generally doing the boy tussle.

Having read up on the world�s happenings since I last left this computing-thang at about midnight�and at least partially caffeinated meself (Blue Mountain Peaberry for the holidays! WhooooHOOOOO!) it became apparent I am in-fact awake and not feeling too badly about it. Thus this update on all things.

Groovie Gal and her daughter were by last evening for a bit (yeah� I know, my resolve about socializing with mommies of classmates is truly breathtaking.) But, without entering into Methinks-He-Doth-Protest-Too-Much-Land�it is a joy to talk with another single parent about inane sole-adult-with-kidlet issues� and it is not as if that or the run to the SD Zoo later in the week actually counts as a date. She is lovely, smart and smart-mouthed�and appears to be a swell human (and when she moves, she does cause some minor swelling and discomfort.)

I have been on a loud/fast music jag which is especially tough when I made a strong commitment not to break the ginger-haired-boy�s-eardrums with same before nine or ten years old. Thus the few minutes I can steal of late with headphones have me bleeding my ears to the joys of Clutch/ST/SystemOfaDown/Meatmen/BadBrains/Guttermouth, et al. As an aside�a good pair of headphones with a nice separate headphone amp (like a Creek) is the only way to cross the 120db line with any aplomb�and cross it I do. Feels good.

To the fledgling Sauce reader who asked if my libido/tastes crossed into those attractive female humans below the age of majority? Gently?

Hell no. Please.

No.

Find a playmate your own age�and pretend he is older or has an old fish (er, sole) or something. Get thee to a nunnery�before I have to�

But your offer was kind. Thoughtful even.

Keep moving. Nothing to see here.

[Hoping I handled that firmly without being mean, Ma�am.]

Gonna sluice off my skanky (not showered since last nite) arse and go do errands with His Wonderful Little Boy-ness now.

And since the recipe thing was such an odd hit (who-da-thunk) I�ll throw another up before making it. My son and I are making North Carolina Pulled Pork tomorrow (don�t get juvenile about that�as I plan to be calm�for a Sauce�on innuendo in the body of my YouTooCanMakeThisAtHome overview tonight.) But. Do note that I will have the opportunity to have my cute-faced and straight-man son ask for some Butt at the meat counter in our local grocers today�

It should be fun. A giggler along the lines of our current favorite gag�which he doesn�t get but really enjoys my sophomoric reaction to� I loudly ask the child in the midst of a busy produce section to name the smallest citrus fruit for me�and his piping little voice bellows Kumquat! You should see the looks. That word does sound wonderfully salacious.

Yep. I�m a dolt. And I enjoy it.

--QuatSauce.

PS. For those who haven�t seen it�my favorite little site to send vegetarian pals? http://www.petsorfood.com Really funny.

~*~
1 comments so far
Weird Link of the Day:
Reading:
What's Cooking:

recent entries:

DaSauce Top Se7enStatHoz
(DaTermIned By DaStats)
1. How This Oafish Boy Became An Only Parent
2. Erectile (T)Issues
3. DaSauce Explains All Males (really!)
4. Sauce Tries To Explain What IN-LOVE Means To Him
5. A Moment Of Truth For DaSauce
6. Would you, Could You With A Goat?
7. Sauce Soixante Neuf
Diarist Awards 2002 Quarter Four Winner - Best Dramatic Entry

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All material � 2002-2003 DaSauce unless otherwise noted.
Feel free to beg (ask) or borrow (link back) but I'd prefer you didn't steal.
Recommended for IE 5.0 or higher, or Netscape 4.0 or higher
Designed for screen setting of 800 by 600 pixels