Latest Entry
Older Entries
My Profile
eMail Me
Notes
Get Your Own Diaryland Diary
2003-01-13 --- 8:14 p.m.

Hair of DaSauce or Hair Today Gone Tomorrow

My "five point five years old, dad--not five and a half" son has had an ongoing chance to do something I suspect not-so-very-many-offspring get from their dads.

He chooses my hair color.

You are looking askance?

Well, within tolerance levels (we�ll skip all the primary and fluorescent screamers, thank you.)

But, that said, while grocery shopping he periodically gets the opportunity to lean over and go��how �bout that color, dad?�

Let�s go back a bit, shall we?

Dating myself here. But around the time of my mid-teens, I went to see a show in Boston, Mass. at the Orpheum Theater� from a band I had been importing on vinyl for a while.

This was the first time, I had seen any of the various crews I was fond of at the time�and they were called The Clash. [Later, cuts from that show ended up on their US breakthrough album, London Calling.]

Anyway, for some reason I really liked all the silly-damned earrings and messed up looking hair that I saw at that show�and soon I was a fashion disaster for Southern Vermont (then nine earrings in my left ear�now down to a nice quiet Gonzo Parent seven.).

I have messed with my hair ever since. It has been long-and-white-boy-dreadlocked (circa �85ish�and damn if they didn�t look like matted dog hair, and yes, I washed it daily, thanks again,) followed by half a head of dreads (on the right) that gave way to a single dread out daback DaSauce head (kind of a Krishna cut, Ned.) You get the picture.

Today I am happily shorn and have been that way about/since a few years back caused a wild-wanna-grow-my-haid-out. I generally have 3/8�s to a half and now make the facial hair grow in odd paths.

So back to daKid, he often can choose what hair color I use. The one I liked least, of late, was a deep raven-black that seemed almost blue. I did the eyebrows and facial hair while at it? Man. I was DaGroucho. It was hideous and all I could do to wait a couple of weeks to change it. Didn't wanna hurt his widdle feelings. Grin.

Tonight, while shopping on our lovely way home, we stopped and got various and sundry. And I asked him to pick out a color.

Now you realize all of the above, right?

So why did it make me tense when he asked me to pick one in exactly his color? His hair is deeply similar to a particular shade from L�Oreal�their F�ria 93 for those keeping score at home. I have a �dad, it is strawberry-blond� ginger-haired lad. His head color is nearly identical to my facial hair�and I have a number of redheaded uncles (so I wasn�t tense about his being a by-blow from the Asian Mailperson, a final thank you.) Red is a recessive trait�and his mom musta had some in her lineage somewheres.

But, for a moment, it made me tense.

Go figure.

We bought the color anyway or as a result.

Hair coloring party for one?

--DatSoonToBeStrawberryBlondSauce

PS.? Naturally I was born a very toe-headed individual and now it is brownish with the cutest little patch of gray up on the right side of my widow's peak. Maybe I'll go natural next. So Der.

~*~
3 comments so far
Weird Link of the Day: JeezumCrowAgain?WithThanksToMsMouthyLegs
Reading: Gave Up on Madonna 13 for now, and it 's called A Scattering of Jades, by
What's Cooking: Taught the boy to make a nice homemade lemon/fresh-dill mayo, and used the leftover peas and salmon in a big cold salad. Slurp!

recent entries:

DaSauce Top Se7enStatHoz
(DaTermIned By DaStats)
1. How This Oafish Boy Became An Only Parent
2. Erectile (T)Issues
3. DaSauce Explains All Males (really!)
4. Sauce Tries To Explain What IN-LOVE Means To Him
5. A Moment Of Truth For DaSauce
6. Would you, Could You With A Goat?
7. Sauce Soixante Neuf
Diarist Awards 2002 Quarter Four Winner - Best Dramatic Entry

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All material � 2002-2003 DaSauce unless otherwise noted.
Feel free to beg (ask) or borrow (link back) but I'd prefer you didn't steal.
Recommended for IE 5.0 or higher, or Netscape 4.0 or higher
Designed for screen setting of 800 by 600 pixels