Latest Entry
Older Entries
My Profile
eMail Me
Notes
Get Your Own Diaryland Diary
2003-04-19 --- 09:24

Sir Prized N� Sir Cease Continue To Flog Poetic Beast

Wow!

Wholly Shit?!?

Youse guys continue to surprise DaSaucePerson. Yesterday�s bit of Ferlinghetti was very much fer me own amusement and with the knowledge that the Christians in DaAudience would throw me to the lions club or somesuch.

You�d think that I�d-A-Written That Shit from the pile of crazed raves (in the two digits? Amazing!) that rolled into DaE-mailBoxThingy. Kind of all of you, even.

If this nonsense keeps up, YerDiaristOfRecord might eventually approach recovering the number of faves that leapt heartily off the band-wagon when reading the Truth Entry (below for the nonce in reader stats, otherwise it is back in Older.)

And just because this boy is a fan of Larry you get two more. And just because this boy is a fan of Larry you get two more. [There. Were those the two? Sorry. Silly Human Here.] Again, with DaSauceGuy reaching out into transcription land---and personally giving you the works by hand� Grin.

As with the previous, these are two poems from Lawrence Ferlinghetti�s A Coney Island of The Mind, � 1958, City Lights Press, and note that with all of his stuff? Reading aloud seems to hit the mark harder than just letting the words parse into yer skull...

This first one has always nailed a partial mental rationale for why HisSauceNess does not sleep with folks he doesn�t CARE-Deeply-About/MightEvenLove. Ever get yourself into the situation seen on Ferlinghetti's morning below?

++++++++

See

it was like this when

we waltz into this place

a couple of Papish cats

is doing an Aztec two-step

And I says

Dad let's cut

but then this dame

comes up behind me see

and says

You and me could really exist

Wow I says

Only the next day

she has bad teeth

and really hates

poetry

++++++++

This second one, is especially pertinent today in these United States with NeoConservatism/Jingoism/and various other �ism style maladies busting us in the ass. And, it has always been a favorite, methinks youse pholks can guess why along the way.

++++++++

I Am Waiting

I am waiting for my case to come up

and I am waiting

for a rebirth of wonder

and I am waiting for someone

to really discover America

and wail

and I am waiting

for the discovery

of a new symbolic western frontier

and I am waiting

for the American Eagle

to really spread its wings

and straighten up and fly right

and I am waiting

for the Age of Anxiety

to drop dead

and I am waiting

for the war to be fought

which will make the world safe

for anarchy

and I am waiting

for the final withering away

of all governments

and I am perpetually awaiting

a rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for the Second Coming

and I am waiting

for a religious revival

to sweep thru the state of Arizona

and I am waiting

for the Grapes of Wrath to be stored

and I am waiting

for them to prove

that God is really American

and I am seriously waiting

for Billy Graham and Elvis Presley

to exchange roles seriously

and I am waiting

to see God on television

piped onto church altars

if only they can find

the right channel

to tune in on

and I am waiting

for the Last Supper to be served again

with a strange new appetizer

and I am perpetually awaiting

a rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for my number to be called

and I am waiting

for the living end

and I am waiting

for dad to come home

his pockets full

of irradiated silver dollars

and I am waiting

for the atomic tests to end

and I am waiting happily

for things to get much worse

before they improve

and I am waiting

for the Salvation Army to take over

and I am waiting

for the human crowd

to wander off a cliff somewhere

clutching its atomic umbrella

and I am waiting

for Ike to act

and I am waiting

for the meek to be blessed

and inherit the earth

without taxes

and I am waiting

for forests and animals

to reclaim the earth as theirs

and I am waiting

for a way to be devised

to destroy all nationalisms

without killing anybody

and I am waiting

for linnets and planets to fall like rain

and I am waiting for lovers and weepers

to lie down together again

in a new rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for the Great Divide to be crossed

and I am anxiously waiting

for the secret of eternal life to be discovered

by an obscure general practitioner

and save me forever from certain death

and I am waiting

for life to begin

and I am waiting

for the storms of life,

to be over

and I am waiting

to set sail for happiness

and I am waiting

for a reconstructed Mayflower

to reach America

with its picture story and tv rights

sold in advance to the natives

and I am waiting

for the lost music to sound again

in the Lost Continent

in a new rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for the day

that maketh all things clear

and I am waiting

for Ole Man River

to just stop rolling along

past the country club

and I am waiting

for the deepest South

to just stop Reconstructing itself

in its own image

and I am waiting

for a sweet desegregated chariot

to swing low

and carry me back to Ole Virginie

and I am waiting

for Ole Virginie to discover

just why Darkies are born

and I am waiting

for God to lookout

from Lookout Mountain

and see the Ode to the Confederate Dead

as a real farce

and I am awaiting retribution

for what America did

to Tom Sawyer

and I am perpetually awaiting

a rebirth of wonder

I am waiting for Tom Swift to grow up

and I am waiting

for the American Boy

to take off Beauty's clothes

and get on top of her

and I am waiting

for Alice in Wonderland

to retransmit to me

her total dream of innocence

and I am waiting

for Childe Roland to come

to the final darkest tower

and I am waiting

for Aphrodite

to grow live arms

at a final disarmament conference

in a new rebirth of wonder

I am waiting

to get some intimations

of immortality

by recollecting my early childhood

and I am waiting

for the green mornings to come again

youth's dumb green fields come back again

and I am waiting

for some strains of unpremeditated art

to shake my typewriter

and I am waiting to write

the great indelible poem

and I am waiting

for the last long careless rapture

and I am perpetually waiting

for the fleeing lovers on the Grecian Urn

to catch each other up at last

and embrace

and I am awaiting

perpetually and forever

a renaissance of wonder

++++++++

--HokayDatsEnoughSauce

Psssst?

To answer a few reader questions�Allen Ginsberg, Not-So-Much, as it isn�t about Beat Poetry. And in all seriousness? DaSauce may be the only person who ever thought that he was a one poem wonder�and the NAMBLA Thing? DEEP UN-Adult-Ere-Ate-Ed Wrongness From Minute One. Fucking Leave Children Alone You Sick Phucks--Hetero/Homo/Who Cares? Thank you. I'll be here all week.

~*~
1 comments so far
Weird Link of the Day: Seuss War Panels--Mentioned In Would You, Could You? Entry
Reading: Finishing The Sparrow.... Amazing and wonderous book
What's Cooking: Huahuatenengo Coffee--Nicknamed Way-Way!

recent entries:

DaSauce Top Se7enStatHoz
(DaTermIned By DaStats)
1. How This Oafish Boy Became An Only Parent
2. Erectile (T)Issues
3. DaSauce Explains All Males (really!)
4. Sauce Tries To Explain What IN-LOVE Means To Him
5. A Moment Of Truth For DaSauce
6. Would you, Could You With A Goat?
7. Sauce Soixante Neuf
Diarist Awards 2002 Quarter Four Winner - Best Dramatic Entry

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All material � 2002-2003 DaSauce unless otherwise noted.
Feel free to beg (ask) or borrow (link back) but I'd prefer you didn't steal.
Recommended for IE 5.0 or higher, or Netscape 4.0 or higher
Designed for screen setting of 800 by 600 pixels