Latest Entry
Older Entries
My Profile
eMail Me
Notes
Get Your Own Diaryland Diary
2003-02-09 --- 21:26

Actus Interuptus --or-- Tough Cookies

[Excuse me. Dropping outta DaSauce character thingie for the nonce� which I imagine will have many of you running from the naked word �I.� And for this I do apologize.]

So.

Yesterday.

I did this really dumb thing. And My Dumb Ass� is prone to doing�well�dumb things. Following me so far? Good.

Yesterday, I started an entry that started to look like a novella and I broke it off, as it appeared to be at a juncture where the break was viable�and I hate the prospect of hitting you with a 5000-word entry. You are here for snits, giggles, and a periodic glance at strange-looking bald-ass attempts at introspection from someone who clearly doesn�t do them well. Not for reading for a half hour. No matter how wordy, I am, sometimes� do note that I do keep you--O'reader of my flowing nonsense--in mind in the process. So there.

Thus the three parts.

Act One was kinda-low-quality on a SauceScale�but you not only get what you pay for� you also get them unedited and in one quick lump (otherwise, your diarist might be tempted to perfect the contents which would be A BAD IDEA as these are just mutterings from an Only Parent, and such.) Beyond that, things being what they are� I�m already working a more than full-time gig (which I love) and finishing the first draft on my fourth book (but this is the only one that counts as it is Fiction, and is not-about-dem-game-thing-a-ma-bobs and may actually�eventually--be the job I get to do from anywhere.) The gist here is that if I edit, it looks like work and this diary is destined to be fun--and a nice blow off of steam from other endeavors.

So this afternoon I ducked the part where on weekends I join a wonderful little guy at the feets of She Who Gives Astonishing Nap And Doesn�t Gargle Or Spit, But Actually Swallows The Tireds and wrote my way back out of the paper bag I had left myself in�

The two follow on pieces are good. Phuck. Maybe even better than good. They have just enough thoughtful-boy-stench� & � and humor to hit properly where they belong.

Even so, they feel like I was cheating. I set aside time to do them. I thought about the content before actually putting my big-ass-paws to the keyboard. And I tried to make them good. So tonight when I went to cut and paste Act II into your future reading� I mused long and hard (get yer noggins out of the gutter� Mused not Used Or Abused Youse. Goofs.) about it and decided it WAS cheating.

Thus, without seeming to be a tease�as that is NOT my intent. I am holding them for rainy days. Some wonderful day when I have the plague or get knocked across the road in an (ideally) non-lethal incident with a rampaging Huffalump who is being chased down the cobbles by a Woozle (natch.)

Do remind me to tell you of the time I had a four-day-touch of the Bubonic Plague after getting vaccinated against such� I�ll never call those poor bastards in the midst of The Black Death sissies. Man, lose a third of Europe in 20 plus years? Yow.

Sorry about the sideways moment there.

OK. So. The intent is that you�ll get Acts II and III as I have a need for filler since they aren�t real from-the-synapses-to-your-eyeballs entries with the immediacy that the rest of me scribbles have had (minus otherwise noted filler a time or three in the nearly two months you have gotten an update and a half a day.)

Make sense?

Good.

Tonight my son and I were talking about the word Faux and its meaning of Fake.

After a few moments I had him laughing his skinny-little (Hey! What happened to the chub that was my toddler?) fast-growing white ass off�

I had explained that the stuffed animal I was holding really wasn�t really covered in fake or faux fur�that it was REAL plastic fur.

This set him giggling.

And then he noted for me that, �Corn is NOT from Maple Trees.�

I had such an explosive laugh that I blew spit across the dinner table� and more? I understood what he was saying.

And I think that covers the whole thing.

Thank you for your time.

We return to our regularly scheduled Sauce-like self on the morrow.

--TheGuyWhoIsDaSauce

PS. Such an excited lad here! I somehow missed 472 pages of goodness when it came out on January 7th� So this past week I noticed it, and I just checked tracking and Simon R. Green�s DeathStalker Legacy is due in tomorrow afternoon. I hope I don�t drool on the damned thing. Grin.

~*~
1 comments so far
Weird Link of the Day: I Lost A Ton O' Family In This One
Reading: Sten Book Four--Fleet of the Damned--reread continues
What's Cooking: Home Griddled Teppanyaki Style Tenderloin Ala Angus Wid Veggies Grilled On Da Side

recent entries:

DaSauce Top Se7enStatHoz
(DaTermIned By DaStats)
1. How This Oafish Boy Became An Only Parent
2. Erectile (T)Issues
3. DaSauce Explains All Males (really!)
4. Sauce Tries To Explain What IN-LOVE Means To Him
5. A Moment Of Truth For DaSauce
6. Would you, Could You With A Goat?
7. Sauce Soixante Neuf
Diarist Awards 2002 Quarter Four Winner - Best Dramatic Entry

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All material � 2002-2003 DaSauce unless otherwise noted.
Feel free to beg (ask) or borrow (link back) but I'd prefer you didn't steal.
Recommended for IE 5.0 or higher, or Netscape 4.0 or higher
Designed for screen setting of 800 by 600 pixels