Latest Entry
Older Entries
My Profile
eMail Me
Notes
Get Your Own Diaryland Diary
2003-02-05 --- 23:06

Common Courtesy Squared ala Sauce

DatSauceGuy continually puts aside Cool Moments with DaBoy. This is to be certain that in later testosterone-ridden years he doesn�t off him for being a shithead. The hope is that since he is saving little vignettes of joy to dig into and enjoy when DaBoy becomes DaTeenFromHell--he'll spare him.

Last night?

�Dad!�

HisSauceHood glances at the clock. It is 03:34. After having finished working at another nutty 17 hour day�and laying down to read at 01:15 or so, and turning off the light a bit more than an hour later�this was a RUDE hour. And that was your diarist�s first thought.

[Internally. �Man. What a rude hour.�]

�Dad!�

YourSauce fumbles and mentally mumbles his way down the hall.

�Yes, Insert-Name-Here Kiddo?� [Sounding gentle for a big oaf.]

�Um, I am sorry for interrupting you, dad. But I had a dream. And I need to tell you� Oh. I don�t know. I guess I�ll just go back to sleep. I love�� [In that tone he always follows love with YOU�and adds something like �so much it is like from here to the nearest alien-planet, which would be really far, right? And back. I love you that much, dad.� Instead he followed with a light little boy snore.]

I giggled as I schlumped back toward my soft and supple bedmate (er, clutch pillow.)

I am sorry for interrupting you?

DaKiddo is polite, even in the rudest hours of DaNight.

++++++++++++++

Since I pimp The Persuasions regularly on this piece of unreal-estate�and we now own every available CD (most of them given away more than once� as I am swell like that and I like to support and evangelize frigging talent now and again. Especially those who have given me a ton of pleasure over the years.) Anyway� wrong turn at Albuquerque. I was driving out of one of the big-dumb-studio lots early this afternoon after sitting around �Doing A Meeting.� [Side note? Three kinds of water and three temperatures for each seems a bit PHUCKING over-the-top, no?] I don�t care who resides at the top floor of some building named after the lifetime achievement statue and long-dead actor/producer/director/writer at the Academy Awards (which is in HD this year so I get to see LollyPopHeads in high def�but I�ll prolly watch anyway. RandomSauce? Yep. Thanks. That�s me.) No one needs three water choices and all of them room, cool, or cold. Goofballs.

Back to the now-NON-story. And if it continues to be random�-it must be something to do with (as Mojo Nixon would put it) "the demon jism build-up"� so bear with me (no. Don�t take off your clothes, it is a figure of speech�And I didn�t want to see you naked anyway, and that would be the word 'Bare' okay?)

Yep. Random-As-Phuck-Today

Anyway�

I am leaving a big-ass Japanese Owned Movie Lot after a meeting today, (where I chose COLD Vichy, thanks for asking) and I climb in my happily aged auto (I got her when she was born, 196K miles ago, and I am So NOT So Very SoCal because I am keeping her �til she drops. ) with the stereo equipment that is on a constant upgrade path�and now is worth three times the value of the car. And I was in a pissy mood after having sat around accomplishing nothing with some goof who doesn�t even play games but wanted to talk about them�and instead talked about the films he had in production.

So. I wanted something loud and fast. In goes, Suicidal Tendancies' FreeDumb album, but it pops out quickly as it isn�t meeting THE NEED. In goes Fear �cuz New York�s Alright If You Don�t Mind Saxophones, but out it comes as I was surprised to find that Fear needed a vacation from my head. So. I spot 24/7 Spyz�and think, �Nope. Not today.� Digging through CD�s at the first redlight, I pop in DaBoy�s copy of On The Good Ship Lollipop, by The Persausions�and it doesn�t wanna pop out. I flick forward a few tunes to the amazingly kick-ass Gospel Version of On Top Of Spaghetti�and head for 120 db with the windows down�. Singing-along as is my normal wont with everything good. Loudly. I might add. Well, even.

Back to the tune? I get to the first time the word sneezed is used�and I see someone gesticulating wildly in the convertible to my left. I get to the garden and under a bush, and I pause the music. I look over and my brain kinda registers that I have seen this human� and then the voice asking me who I am listening to reminds me where. I start to tell him and folks are honking. I point off to the right with a quizzical look (and yes that particular face is my main talent. Shut UP!) He nods, and I pull over. He pulls over in front of me� and wanders back to my auto. I tell him that the band is The Persuasions� and that they are wonderful, that they were originally signed by Zappa back in the 60�s, that they are the kings of a cappella music, that they have about 40 years and 30 albums to their name, that they are resurgent now� and on. I pop out the CD, and put it in the jewel case, and grab their current Beatles cover album for good measure. And I hand them out the window. He looks at them carefully, and asks for a pen. I grin and say, �keep them.�

I�ll get more. I like to support these guys.

He says, �You sure?�

�Yep. Sez I.�

�Well? Well. Thanks!� Sez he.

�Enjoy them, and buy more for family and pals, OK?� says your diarist.

�I will. I will.� Says the guy who pulled me over to ask about The Persuasions.

�Have a good afternoon, Ving.� Says I.

�Thanks�� Says Ving looking kinda poleaxed.

By the next light I had figured out that Ella and Satch hit the spot.

--SauceLovesASillyStoryAndHisKid

PS. If wire-reports are true and the chicken plant folks in Tenn. are convicted of the current allegations (that ought to keep me from being smacked for besmirching their reputation, such as it is) Tyson Foods can suck my dick. Deniability be damned--I can't believe that after all their asshole routines over the years that they are still pulling such heinous crap. And they supply 1/4th of the nations poultry. This makes me almost glad California has such nutty protectionist chicken laws. IDIOTS. Creeps. [These peeps are someone's children and some probably have kids. as a parent I shudder and feel like I oughta weep.]

~*~
0 comments so far
Weird Link of the Day: BuyThemDammit!
Reading: 2nd half, first Sten book... Reread
What's Cooking: Cold Leftover Buffet with Live HOCKEY in High Def On HDNet

recent entries:

DaSauce Top Se7enStatHoz
(DaTermIned By DaStats)
1. How This Oafish Boy Became An Only Parent
2. Erectile (T)Issues
3. DaSauce Explains All Males (really!)
4. Sauce Tries To Explain What IN-LOVE Means To Him
5. A Moment Of Truth For DaSauce
6. Would you, Could You With A Goat?
7. Sauce Soixante Neuf
Diarist Awards 2002 Quarter Four Winner - Best Dramatic Entry

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All material � 2002-2003 DaSauce unless otherwise noted.
Feel free to beg (ask) or borrow (link back) but I'd prefer you didn't steal.
Recommended for IE 5.0 or higher, or Netscape 4.0 or higher
Designed for screen setting of 800 by 600 pixels